Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Madison Smartt Bell


2016 Reynolds Price Visiting Fiction Writer Madison Smartt Bell is the author of twelve novels, including his Toussaint Louverture trilogy, All Soul’s Rising, a finalist for the 1995 National Book Award and the 1996 PEN/Faulkner Award and winner of the 1996 Anisfield-Wolf award for the best book of the year dealing with matters of race, Master of the Crossroads, and The Stone That the Builder Refused, available in a uniform edition from Vintage Contemporaries. Bell’s Toussaint Louverture: A Biography appeared in 2007. Devil’s Dream, a novel based on the career of Nathan Bedford Forrest, was published by Pantheon in 2009. His most recent novel is The Color of Night. Since 1984 he has taught at Goucher College, and he has been a member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers since 2003.